Women's Lacrosse Pulls Away from Comets

Women's Lacrosse Pulls Away from Comets

ANGOLA, IND. -- The Trine University women's lacrosse team pulled away from the visiting Olivet College to pick up the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) victory by the score of 20-3.

The Thunder offense showed up from the beginning of the game scoring the first ten goals of the contest. Olivet would stop the running clock once with their first goal of the contest with just under seven minutes of the first half of the game before Trine turned it back on by finishing out the half with three more goals. The Thunder took the 13-1 lead into the intermission.

In the second half, Trine continued their offensive run adding two goals in the first five minutes to build their lead to 15-1. Olivet would score two goals in a row following the run to finish off their scoring in the contest and close the gap to 15-3. Trine finished off with five goals in the final 13 minutes of the contest to come away with the 20-3 victory.

Two Trine players came away with the first goals of their careers in the contest, freshman Shea Rayburn (Attica, Ind. / Attica) finished with one goal while sophomore Renee Bock (New Haven, Ind. / New Haven) finished the contest with three goals.

Freshman Kristin John (South Bend, Ind. / St. Joe's) led the way for the Thunder with five goals in the contest, while senior Rebecca Plantz (DeWitt, Mich. / DeWitt) led the team with seven points including three goals and four assists. Junior Kiersten Osowski (Granger, Ind. / Elkhart Memorial) was the third Thunder player to come away with three or more goals and also added an assist.

Junior Audrey Poteet (Indianapolis, Ind. / Ben Davis) started the game in net and would pick up the win. Freshman Emily Morthorst (Fort Wayne, Ind. / Homestead) played the entire second half and made three good saves to keep the team well ahead in the game.

Trine improves to 4-8 overall and 2-2 in the MIAA. They will next take the field when they travel to Kalamazoo College for a 1 p.m. contest on Saturday, April 21.