Garrett Repeats as Defensive Player of the Year

Garrett Repeats as Defensive Player of the Year

ROYAL OAK, MICH.-- Trine goalkeeper Grace Garrett has been named the MIAA Women's Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year, the conference announced as part of the league's all-conference release Saturday.

This is the second-consecutive season Garrett (Carmel, Ind./Carmel) has been named the conference's defensive MVP. The junior was also named the First-Team All-MIAA goalkeeper. Garrett ranked second in saves per game during the regular season, averaging an even 15 per contest. Her 180 saves ranked sixth in the nation and set a single-season school-record. Both marks led the conference. Garrett also led the MIAA with a .486 save percentage, also a school-record, and was sixth in the league with 18 caused turnovers.

Garrett set numerous school-records during the season. She made 22 saves to set a single-game record against Allegheny on Mar. 9. Garrett also became the program's all-time leader in saves and has more than doubled the number of the second-highest total.

The complete MIAA All-Conference teams and award winners are listed below.

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Hannah Early, Adrian

Most Valueable Defensive Player: Grace Garrett, Trine

Rookie of the Year: Brianna Plester, Adrian

First Team All-MIAA
GK- Grace Garrett, Trine- Jr.
A- Maddie Dugan, Adrian- Sr.
A- Mackenzie Novak, Albion- Jr.
A- Michelle Holwerda, Calvin- Sr.
A- Audrey Grabowski, Calvin- Fr.
M- Hannah Early, Adrian- Sr.
M- Brianna Plester, Adrian- Sr.
M- Ashley Glenn, Albion- Jr.
M- Tracy Gallihugh, Alma- Jr.
D- Michelle Sandlin, Adrian- Jr.
D- Mary Hoogstra, Calvin- Sr.
D- Stephanie Rogers, Hope- Sr.
D- Holly Cooperrider, Kalamazoo- Sr.

Second Team All-MIAA
G- Jul Tehovnik, Adrian- Sr.
A- Christine Campbell, Adrian- Fr.
A- Julie Wood, Albion- So.
A- Stephanie Chou, Alma- Fr.
A- Emily Cefaratti, Calvin- Fr.
M- TaShina Salas, Adrian- So.
M- Ashton Street, Alma- So.
M- Karissa Reed, Calvin- Jr.
M- MacKenzie Inman, Olivet- Jr.
D- Laurel Van't Hof, Adrian- Sr.
D- Caroline Stanka, Alma- Fr.
D- Isabel Fontana, Albion- So.
D- Nina Morssinkhof, Olivet- Fr.