Walters, Jamieson Earn All-MIAA Honors

Walters, Jamieson Earn All-MIAA Honors

FREELAND, Mich. -- Trine's Brandon Walters and Alex Jamieson were named to the All-MIAA Men's Lacrosse Team, the conference announced today.

Each player was named to the All-MIAA Second Team. Walters (Bloomfield Hills, Mich. / University of Detroit Jesuit) earned recognition as the short pole midfielder. Jamieson (Hartland, Wis. / Arrowhead) was recognized as a defender. Walters and Jamieson each earned all-conference honors for the first time in their careers. The duo helped lead the Thunder to an overall record of 7-6 and a fifth-place finish in the MIAA with a 3-4 mark in league action.

Walters became one of the best defensive midfielders in the MIAA as a senior. He set a career-high with 31 ground balls and caused six turnovers. Offensively, he added a career-high 10 points on a career-high six goals and four assists. He notched a season-high two goals to help Trine earn a road victory at Wilmington (Ohio).

Jamieson anchored the Thunder defensive corps with a team-high 17 caused turnovers, the seventh-most in a season in team history. He added 27 ground balls and chipped in an assist offensively. His season-high of three caused turnovers came in a conference victory at Calvin. Jamieson totaled five ground balls on two occasions, both of which came in non-conference wins.

The defensive work of Jamieson and Walters helped the Thunder lead the MIAA in scoring defense for the second consecutive year. Trine allowed 7.77 goals per game, the 27th-best mark in the nation. The Thunder held six opponents to five goals or fewer. Trine killed off 76.9 percent of its man-down situations, the best mark in the MIAA.

The complete MIAA award winners and all-conference teams are listed below.

Offensive Most Valuable Player: Zach Hubbell, Albion

Defensive Most Valuable Player: Kyle DeCamp, Albion

Rookie of the Year: Chase Hunyadi, Alma

All-MIAA First Team
Attack - Dominic Hamper, Albion
Attack - Jared Nycz, Alma
Attack - Gunnar Elder, Hope
Midfielder - Zach Hubbell, Albion
Midfielder - Nino Minaudo, Olivet
Midfielder - Brandon Lebioda, Albion
Long Pole - Charlie Haesler, Olivet
Short Pole - Noah Nedd, Calvin
Face Off - Kyle DeCamp, Albion
Defender - David Brown, Albion
Defender - Cullen Haelser, Olivet
Defender - Matt Lowes, Albion
Goalie - Trevor McManus, Albion

All-MIAA Second Team
Attack - Drew Harm, Albion
Attack - Chase Hunyadi, Alma
Attack - Rocco Mularoni, Hope
Midfielder - Austin Irrer, Alma
Midfielder - Logan Krieger, Olivet
Midfielder - Harrison Palmer, Albion
Long Pole - Cody Schmitt, Adrian
Short Pole - Brandon Walters, Trine
Face Off - Kyle Gaines, Hope
Defender - Andrew Caris, Hope
Defender - Alex Jamieson, Trine
Defender - Max Linscott, Alma
Goalie - Nick Schanhals, Hope