Matt Land
Athletic Director

Being a member of the nation's oldest collegiate athletic conference, the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA), seeing more than 850 student-athletes participate in 26 varsity sports, in addition to nine club sports, and having some of the finest facilities to field exciting NCAA Division III competitive events is what makes Trine athletes know their college experience will be something they will remember the rest of their lives. The recent addition of athletic programs such as men's and women's ice hockey, esports, men's and women's bowling, women's triathlon, synchronized ice skating, figure skating and acrobatics and tumbling programs make this an exciting time in the history of our athletic programs. We invite you to be a part of Thunder history.

Trine University prides itself on strong academic programs. As we begin to look at our 135th year in existence as a university, the athletic department works closely with and understands the needs of our student athletes in order for them to meet the demands necessary to achieve the academic excellence needed to prepare for work and future challenges.

Our facilities continue to meet the expansion and growth of our athletic programs with the recent completion of the Thunder Ice Arena and MTI Center.  We continue to make improvements to our already existing facilities to make them some of the finest venues in the region and all of NCAA Division III.  

The on–campus 18-hole championship golf course and 3500 seat gymnasium have allowed us to host several collegiate tournaments. Zollner Golf Course and Trine athletics also served as the host of the 2012 NCAA Women′s National Golf Championship.

It is with great pride that we invite you to experience Trine athletics and to extend to you an open invitation to contact us. Better yet – come visit us at "Thunder Park" on the campus of Trine University and experience the THUNDER!


Greg Perschke
Head Baseball Coach
Phone:  (260) 665-4135

Nick Pfafman
Assistant Baseball Coach
Phone:  (260) 665-4838


Baseball has had a vast history at Trine with the first recorded game occurring in 1889 when the school was known as Tri-State Normal College.  Over the next several decades, the program improved and the school changed from Tri-State Normal to Tri-State College.  Referred to as the "Trojans," Tri-State captured a conference title in 1960 as members of the Mid-Central Conference (now the Crossroads League), and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) after finishing the season with a 6-3 record.

Tri-State went on to win three total titles as members of the MCC (1966, 1969 and 1974) before going on to become members of the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) in the early 1990's.  The 1974 season was the highlight year for the program at the time when the Trojans won a school record 18 games (18-10 overall) and went 10-2 in the conference.  A record that stood until the 1995 season when the team won 21 games.  During its time in the WHAC, Tri-State appeared in the conference tournament seven times, including two tournament championship games with one tournament championship in 1995.

Also in the early 90's, the school changed its nickname from the "Trojans" to the current "Thunder."  Changes continued for the school a decade later when Tri-State College became Tri-State University and then Trine University in 2008.  Athletically, the Thunder also transitioned from being members of the NAIA to the National Collegiate Athletic Asssocation (NCAA) Division III.

In 2002, the baseball program became members of the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) and remains a member today.  During its time as members of the MIAA, Trine has made two conference tournament appearances and finished as tournament runners-up in 2013.  The 2013 season, along with the 2012 campaign, were benchmark seasons for the program as Trine posted back-to-back seasons with a school-record 25 victories.  Since joining the MIAA, Trine has had 42 All-Conference awards handed out, including 13 first-team honors.